Testimonials & Reviews

4.92/5

Portland Neurosurgery

Board Certified Neurosurgeon & Spine Surgeon located in Portland, OR

4.92/5 Star Rating
83 total reviews

Portland Neurosurgery always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 83 reviews with an average rating of 4.92 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Portland Neurosurgery below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Bruce M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 05/03/24
Dr. Johnson gives direct answers to all of our questions. Some of the questions are not what we wanted to hear, but he doesn't gloss over anything. I have had previous appointments Dr. Johnson over the past few years and would recommend to anyone.
Deborah S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/03/24
Good understanding Dr.
Bruce L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/03/24
Doctor was not able to help with back pain with surgery but felt he could look into spinal stimuli. It helps some. He seemed very straightforward
Karen S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/02/24
Dr. Johnson is an exceptional physician. I appreciate that he listens and doesn't seemed rushed to get through the appointment.
Lawrence N.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/02/24
Dr Johnson as very caring and conservative in his approach. He was not in a hurry to do surgery and wanted to check all possible causes for my condition. I really appreciated that.
Donald P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 04/02/24
Dr. Johnson is an exceptional physician and surgeon. He's friendly, attentive, and I've been very pleased with the care that he's given me. I highly recommend him!
Douglas B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/21/24
Dr. Jeffery Johnson (Dr. J!) and Staff are very professional and caring. The treated me like I was family and most importantly Dr. J's Medical Assessment of my long standing Lower Lumbar pain (Problems) was/is "Spot-on". I had a major back injury at the age of 23 and had been able to manage the pain and problem for 40 years until at age 63, chiropractic & message therapy just could not provide relief. I had sciatica (pain & numbness) going down both right and left legs so severe that I could not exercise or even walk for 5-10 minutes. The right leg was slightly worse than the left. A MRI was performed and the "Imaging" and the "Report" from the MRI Provider identified lower back problem areas at L2-L3; L3-L4 and L5-S1. My initial response to the MRI Report with terms looked up via Google was "I am in a bad way?". Dr. J did his own study of the MRI Imagery and talked me through what his years of Training & Experience Specializing in Back Surgery told him and Dr. J conservatively approached my Lower Lumbar Back Surgery need with a focus to L3-4 which he was confident that this was the primary source of the problem. In February 2023, Dr. J performed "Bilateral L3-4 Decompression" surgery for me and shortly there after (2-3 Weeks) my lower back pain and sciatica was relieved nearly completely (90%+/-). My physical activity increased through out 2023 and I continue to improve. I have to continue to remind myself - I am now in my mid 60's (not in my 20-40's) and must moderate (watch myself) and not over do it. Notwithstanding, I am a "young 60 year old" and working on increasing my physicality and exercise levels thanks to Dr. J'!
John M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/20/24
Questions answered and information about procedures answered in detail
Heriberto D.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/20/24
Dr Jeffrey Johnson and staff were great and informative every step of the way. The back surgery turned out successful and the recovery is ahead of schedule. I highly recommend Dr Jeffrey Johnson.
Ron S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/20/24
First of all the dr. was truthful and direct that's very much appreciated. He helped me frame serious medical decisions I need to make with good information.
Jerry H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/20/24
He’s great.
Matt N.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/19/24
Would use again.
Loisann H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/19/24
As a new patient I have to understand the correct diagnosis was made considering my age and condition to which was addressed. I look forward to the results extending my being free of pain that would prohibit me from walking as long as possible throughout my elderly years and avoiding invasive surgery if possible.
David S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 03/13/24
As always, Dr. Johnson was forthright and honest in his evaluation of my current condition. He recommended continuing physical therapy exercises and cautioned against consideration of any future back surgeries. With my 52-year history of herniated discs, Dr. Johnson had a very challenging situation exacerbated by a rare, unforeseen complication. He has played a key role in my recovery process. I have 100% confidence in his capabilities.
James H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/17/24
Dr. Johnson listens and advises you so you are aware of what is happening.
Brigett B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/15/24
Friendly people satisfied
Joel K.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/14/24
Very thorough and attentive. The entire staff was professional and alert to all my needs. Dr. Johnson and Dr. Schiller made the operation go flawlessly. I’m convinced that Dr. Johnson is the best neurosurgeon in Oregon.
David S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/14/24
Under difficult circumstances due to a rare complication, Dr. Johnson literally saved my life. His surgical skills are outstanding and his follow-up treatment was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend him for anyone considering back surgery!
Tana S.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/14/24
I Trust Dr Johnson completely. He cares a lot about his patients
Cheryl C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 02/14/24
I am very satisfied with the spine surgery Dr. Johnson did. He and everyone in his office are professional, polite and cover all the bases. The ladies in the office who greet you are so sweet, funny and just so down to earth nice. His PA is very competitive and nice. I just can't say enough about Dr. Johnson and his staff. You all are great, keep up the good work. Thanks ever so much.